Hammer Films Podcasts

8 The Devil Rides Out

Bwahahahahaaaaaaaaa! Oh yes, The Devil is Riding Out. Most definitely. If there was any doubt in your mind about The Devil, banish it now and remember this; he is Riding Out. The Devil, right, Rides Out.

Whatever that means.

I don’t know, I really don’t. I can hazard a guess but I’d probably be wrong. A bit like this poster with the films US title. Which, I might add, makes even less sense!

 

The girl in the poster looks nice – although, now I think of it, I don’t recall that bit in the film. Along with “all the demons of hell”… Maybe I put the wrong disc in the machine? Last time that happened I discovered that my recently purchased copy of Nikita actually contained a copy of Nicholas Cage’s The Wicker Man remake. Worse still, I couldn’t send it back to the retailer because I accidentally shattered the disc into a million tiny pieces, which I then set on fire. Well, what can you do? It was a terrible remake. And it had Nic Cage in it. I’m drifting…

So, you can download from here or iTunes and we’ll see you in two weeks time for the first Doctor Who adventure of Series 6: The Dominators.


3 thoughts on “8 The Devil Rides Out

  1. Have to admit you made me laugh with your explanation of the Wicker Man disc. Wish I had thought of that. I do believe it is the worst movie I have ever seen, and I never let my husband forget that he chose that one.

  2. I remember watching this on a school field trip in a crowded common room. That would have been sometime in the mid 1970s when the BBC were running a lot of late night Hammer horrors.
    There was a lot of nervous laughter but I suspect most of us were a bit creeped out by it.
    Enjoyed your review.

  3. I watched this film for the first time on Friday and now listening to the podcast as I type. I really enjoyed this film, definitely the best Hammer film I’ve seen, though I haven’t seen that many. I was pleasantly surprised by how good a hero Sir Christopher Lee made, having only ever seen him as the villain before.

Leave a Reply

